Maxim Lando, piano

Shostakovich: Festive Overture
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto no. 1
Sarah Kirkland Snider: Something for the Dark
Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé Suite no. 2

Experience the very best of history’s most beloved composers as the WSO presents seminal works by Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky, and Ravel. Plus, one of our Music Director’s favorite composers, Sarah Kirkland Snider, will join us in Wheeling for this performance of her piece Something for the Dark. This season-finale event will begin with the bombastic Festive Overture by Dimitri Shostakovich. Next, emerging superstar Maxim Lando will be featured on the piano in the monumental Piano Concerto no. 1 by Tchaikovsky. The second half will begin with Snider’s work, filled with beautiful depths of sounds and inspired by the poet Philip Levine. Finally, you will experience Ravel’s transporting Suite no. 2 from Daphnis and Chloe, a shimmering portrait of young love that ends in overwhelming fashion—a perfect end to our year.