John Devlin, conductor

Montgomery, Jessie Starburst
Hailstork, Adolphus Variations on “Swing Low Sweet Chariot”
*World Premiere*
Copland, Aaron Appalachian Spring
Walker, George Lyric for Strings

We will first take you on “An American Journey,” starting in New York, traveling down through Virginia, into Pennsylvania and ending in Washington DC. The featured work will be Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring. We will present the world premiere of a living composer, Adolphus Hailstork, and his heartfelt piece for string orchestra Variations on Swing Low Sweet Chariot. Also on the program are pieces by American composers Jessie Montgomery and George Walker. 

For information about the safety protocols for attending this concert, please click